top of page
Search
  • Rick Nolan

Game Feeders Explained


I sat in a tree, some 25 feet above the ground, trying to remember what time the corn-feeder was set to trigger. I was watching a nice 9-point meander his way towards the corn-feeder and me. I knew feeding time was getting close and was concerned the buck might bolt when the feeder started slinging corn.

When legal in your state, corn-feeders are a formidable way to help hunters predict deer movement. I have used corn feeders for more years than I care to admit, and over those years, I have developed a love-hate relationship with them. When the feeder works as designed, they are a valuable tool in the hunter’s toolbox. When they fail – well, they simply turn into a pain in the backside.

Several years ago I decided to quit fighting them, end the frustration, and build my own feeders at Nolan Outdoors that were more reliable than the over-priced, under performing, store bought products. After years of trial and error I learned a lot about feeders. In this blog, I will share some of what I have learned and maybe save you some of the pain I’ve experienced. I will attempt to answer the most common questions I get from fellow hunters.

Plastic or metal? Pick metal every time, no exceptions. Squirrels and rats will munch their way through plastic, leaving a gaping hole to deal with. Steel is heavier and more expensive than plastic, but worth the extra effort and cost.

Some feeders do not look very sturdy. Will they hold up after years in the field? Most store bought feeders are made using lightweight metal or even plastic. They are engineered to withstand the known load, (i.e. weight of corn they hold, wind conditions, etc.). What’s not generally factored into the design is unknown or unexpected circumstances, such as a 200-pound pig rubbing against your feeder’s leg or a cow running into the feeder. These unplanned incidents often lead to a feeder disaster and a pile of corn and metal. I started building feeders with four legs vs. three and using heavy gauge steel rather than the much thinner metal used in store bought feeders. The four legged, heavy gauge metal feeders do a better job of defending themselves against the elements often encountered in the woods.

12 volt or 6 volt? The only advantage to a 6-volt feeder is cost. 12-volt feeders cost more up front but over the long haul are worth the extra investment. Unless you are in a position to babysit your feeders, I always recommend 12-volt.

I have a problem with coons; do I need a varmint cage? Varmint cages can be effective in deterring coons and other varmint from stealing your corn. Coons and squirrels will climb onto the control box and they get proficient at picking corn out of the feeder, one kernel at a time. A varmint cage around the control box can keep them from attacking the spinner plate and getting fat on your corn.

A bigger concern can be larger nuisance critters like pigs or even cows and horses. Pigs, like Pavlov’s dog, learn to “bump” the feeder legs resulting in corn falling to the ground. The harder they “bump” the more corn falls. I have seen feeders destroyed by pigs ramming the feeder legs hard enough to knock the feeder to the ground.

To fix both problems there are two products that have proven to be very effective. The Eliminator Spinner plate and a control box made by SpinTech. Both of these innovative designs use centrifugal force to “close” the feeder when not dispensing corn. By closing the funnel, coons are not able to spin the plate fast enough to be rewarded and pigs are not successful in knocking corn from the feeder.

Do I need a solar panel? The short answer is maybe. A good 12-volt solar panel costs slightly more than an extra battery and charger. If you can visit your feeders monthly, you might be just as well off having an extra battery/charger and simply swap batteries every time you visit your feeders. On the other hand, if you leave them unattended for several months a solar panel might be the best option. I have had solar panel systems run for several years without fail, even under heavy cover. Solar panels do not last for ever. Depending on the quality of the panel they may have to be replaced after several years in the field.

There are many more questions that come up from time to time, far too many to address here. If you have a question about a feeder set up, feel free to drop me an email (rick@nolanoutdoors.com) and I will try to help any way I can.

As for the buck that was headed to the feeder, the feeder went off when the deer was about 50-yards out. He raised his head and looked around then went about his business. He made his way to the corn, eating his fill. I let him walk that day, going to give him another year.

248 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page